Full Moon in September 2022: All You Need to Know

~3 min
Full Moon in September 2022: All You Need to Know

The Full Moon occurring this September will be the Harvest Moon. However, the October Full Moon can also be referred to as the Harvest Moon sometimes. Did Native Americans run out of names for the Full Moons by the end of the year? Read on to figure it out.

Contents

When is the Full Moon in September 2022?

This month, the Full Moon will occur on September 10 at 09:59 GMT (5:59 a.m. EDT). At this time, our natural satellite will lie in the constellation Aquarius. If the Moon is below the horizon at this time in your region, you’ll still have a chance to see it. To the naked eye, the Moon will appear completely round and bright the day before and after the event.

What is a Harvest Moon?

The Harvest Moon is the Full Moon closest to the autumnal equinox, which occurs in September in the Northern Hemisphere and in March in the Southern Hemisphere. Around this time, the Moon rises soon after sunset. In the past, this allowed farmers to work longer and harvest their crops in the evening, under the moonlight. That’s why the Full Moon occurring around the autumnal equinox was called the Harvest Moon.

Full Harvest Moon and autumn equinox

The Harvest Moon is not associated with a particular month, unlike the other Full Moon names. Instead, it is connected to the autumnal equinox: the Full Moon that is nearest to it takes on the name. In the Northern Hemisphere, the Harvest Moon usually occurs in September, but around every three-five years, it is in October. In the Southern Hemisphere, the Harvest Moon takes place either in March or April.

This year, the autumnal equinox in the Northern Hemisphere is on September 23 at 01:04 GMT (September 22, 9:04 p.m. EDT) – that’s why the Full Moon occurring on September 10 is the Harvest Moon. In the Southern Hemisphere, the autumnal equinox has already passed on March 20, at 15:33 GMT (11:33 a.m. EDT).

When is the next Harvest Moon?

In 2023, the Harvest Moon in the Northern Hemisphere will also take place in September. The exact time is September 29, 09:57 GMT (5:57 a.m. EDT). For the Southern Hemisphere, the date is March 7, 2023, at 19:40 GMT (3:40 p.m. EDT).

Why does the Harvest Moon look orange?

The Moon can have an orange hue while hanging low in the sky. The reason is that the blue wavelengths get scattered by the atmosphere, leaving more of the red wavelengths, so the Moon gets an orange or reddish glow. Pass our quiz and learn more about the possible colors of the Moon!

The Moon in the sky can take many shades: orange, gold, and even blood-red. Why does it happen? And what is the real color of our natural satellite? Take this quiz to learn more about the changing colors of the Moon.
Take the quiz!

September Full Moon alternative names

As we mentioned before, the Harvest Moon is the name used to denote both September and October Full Moons, depending on the date of the autumnal equinox. When the Harvest Moon occurs in October, the September Full Moon is called the Corn Moon. The other traditional name used by the Native American tribes is the Rutting Moon: during this period, the mating season begins for deer.

The other alternative names for the September Full Moon include:

  • Chinese: Chrysanthemum Moon
  • Celtic: Singing Moon
  • Wiccan: Barley Moon
  • Cherokee: Nut Moon
  • Southern Hemisphere: Worm Moon, Lenten Moon, Crow Moon, Sugar Moon, Chaste Moon, Sap Moon

September Full Moon in culture

For the Chinese people, the September Full Moon marks the mid-Autumn Festival, also known as the Mooncake Festival or Lantern Festival. It is the second most important festival after the Lunar New Year. On this day, people traditionally get together with their family and friends, eat mooncakes, light up paper lanterns, and gaze at the Moon. Similar September Full Moon traditions are found in many cultures around the world, including Japan, Korea, Vietnam, India, and Sri Lanka.

What’s in the sky near the Full Moon in September?

On September 8, two days before the Full Moon, our natural satellite will meet Saturn in the constellation Capricornus. On September 11, we will see the Moon next to Jupiter. For the exact timings and observing tips, check our article about lunar-planetary conjunctions.

When is the next Full Moon in 2022?

The October Full Moon, or the Hunter’s Moon, will be on October 9, 2022. Use our colorful Full Moon calendar so as not to miss the best time to observe the Moon.

When is the next Full Moon in 2022? See our calendar of all Full Moons this year that includes dates and times, names, Supermoons, and more.
See Infographic

We wish you clear skies and happy observations!

Trustpilot