Full Moon in February 2024: Snow Moon

~5 min
Topics:Moon

The second Full Moon of 2024, the Snow Moon, will occur on Saturday, February 24. The Moon will be in the constellation Leo, near its brightest star Regulus; find other stars in Leo using the Sky Tonight app. Here is an interesting fact: the Full Moon in February will also be a micromoon, the opposite of a supermoon. Now for the details!

Contents

When is the Full Moon in February 2024?

This month, the Moon will reach its full phase on Saturday, February 24, 12:30 GMT (7:30 a.m. EST). Our natural satellite will be positioned in the constellation Leo. Remember that you don’t really need to know the exact time of this event to enjoy it, as the Moon will appear full on the nights around February 24. See exactly how the illumination of the lunar disc changes from day to day in the Sky Tonight app, using the Moon tab in the calendar.

February Full Moon in Leo

In general, the Full Moon in February can be in one of three constellations: the zodiacal constellations Leo and Cancer, and the non-zodiacal small constellation Sextans, which is right next to Leo.

In most years, such as 2024, the Full Moon in February is in the constellation Leo. The next time it will be in Cancer is in 2026; in Sextans — in 2029.

Sometimes, there isn't a Full Moon in February at all. This happens once every 19 years: the last time was in 2018, and the next time will be in 2037. Sometimes people call it a "Black Moon", but it isn’t the only meaning this term has. Learn what it really means in our dedicated article.

First Micromoon of 2024

A Micromoon occurs when a Full Moon coincides with the apogee (the moment when our natural satellite is the farthest from the Earth). According to the calendar made by former NASA astrophysicist Fred Espenak, the Full Moon in February 2024 will be the first Micromoon of this year. For observers, it means that the Moon might seem slightly smaller than usual. Check our Supermoons & Micromoons infographic to visually compare a Supermoon and Micromoon with an ordinary Moon.

Supermoons & Micromoons
What is a Supermoon and a Micromoon? When to observe our natural satellite at its biggest and brightest? Take a look at this infographic to find it out!
See Infographic

What time does the Full Moon rise?

The moonrise time varies for different locations. To learn the exact time for the place you’re currently in, use Sky Tonight. Open the app, tap the Magnifier icon, type “Moon” in the search field, and tap the corresponding search result. On the Figures tab, you’ll find info on the Moon’s current phase, visual magnitude, and illumination. On the Events tab, you can see the list of upcoming astronomical events related to the Moon, including the rise and set times.

What is a Snow Moon?

Traditionally, the February Full Moon is called the Snow Moon in North America and Europe. Unlike some other Full Moon names (like the Worm Moon or the Pink Moon), this name speaks for itself and doesn’t require much explanation. February is the month of heaviest snowfalls in North America, so Native American tribes referred to it as the Snow Moon. Some tribes also called it the Hunger Moon because it was difficult to hunt under harsh weather conditions.

What is a Lenten Moon?

The last Full Moon before the spring equinox in the Anglo-Saxon tradition is called the Lenten Moon. This year, it’s the February Full Moon. The word “Lenten” originates in the Germanic languages and denotes springtime or “lengthening of the day”. The Christian Lent period before Easter and the Lenten Moon have the same roots.

February Full Moon alternative names

Different cultures gave the February Full Moon different names. Here are some of them:

  • Chinese: Budding Moon
  • Celtic: Ice Moon
  • Cree: Eagle Moon
  • Cherokee: Bony Moon
  • Southern Hemisphere: Grain Moon, Barley Moon, Red Moon, Dog Moon

Moon phases in February 2024

  • Last Quarter Moon: February 2, 23:18 GMT (6:18 p.m. EST)
  • New Moon: February 9, 22:59 GMT (5:59 p.m. EST)
  • First Quarter Moon: February 16, 15:01 GMT (10:01 a.m. EST)
  • Full Moon: February 24, 12:30 GMT (7:30 a.m. EST)

You can learn the Moon’s phases for any month from the Moon Phases Calendar on our website. You can also find a similar calendar in the Sky Tonight app.

February New Moon

On Friday, February 9, at 22:59 GMT (5:59 p.m. EST), the New Moon takes place. The Moon, located in the constellation Capricornus, rises and sets with the Sun.

During this event, the Moon is located between the Earth and the Sun and appears as a darkened disc in the sky, invisible to the naked eye. The time around a New Moon is perfect for night sky observations — especially for viewing faint objects such as galaxies or star clusters, as the bright moonlight doesn't interfere.

The only time a New Moon is easily visible in the sky is during a solar eclipse. This occurs when the Moon passes between the Sun and the Earth, blocking the Sun's light from the observer's point of view. The next such event will take place on April 8, 2024, when a total solar eclipse will occur. Don't miss out on this rare astronomical event!

5 Upcoming Eclipses Infographics preview
List of 5 upcoming lunar and solar eclipses, their dates, timelines, and visibility maps. Find out whether you can see them from your location!
See Infographic

Visible stars near the February Full Moon

According to the Sky Tonight astronomical calendar, the Moon will meet two celestial objects before reaching its full phase:

  • On February 21, 2024, at 00:54 GMT (February 20, 7:54 p.m. EST), the Moon will pass 1°48' away from Pollux (mag 1.2), the brightest star in the constellation Gemini;
  • On February 22, 2024, at 02:13 GMT (February 21, 9:13 p.m. EST), the Moon will be at a distance of 3°42' from the Beehive cluster (mag 3.1). Under the dark skies, the Beehive cluster might be visible to the naked eye, but the bright Moon will likely outshine it.
  • On February 23, 2024, at 22:45 GMT (5:45  p.m. EST), the Moon will pass 3°36' away from Regulus (mag 1.4), the brightest star in the constellation Leo. Regulus is bright enough to be visible even at Full Moon, provided the sky is free of light pollution.

Sky Tonight can also help you identify any bright object near the Moon. Open the app and tap the compass icon in the lower right corner of the main screen. Then point your device at the Moon, and the app will reveal the names of stars, planets, and other objects surrounding it.

When is the next Full Moon?

The next Full Moon will occur on March 25, 2024, at 07:00 GMT (2:00 a.m. EST). It is traditionally referred to as the Worm Moon. If you’d like to learn more about the March Full Moon and the origin of its name, read our article. Find out what bright stars will be visible near the March Full Moon using the Sky Tonight app.

If you want to learn more about the upcoming Full Moons and the origins of their names, check out our colorful Full Moon calendar for 2024!

Full Moons in 2024
When is the next Full Moon in 2024? When is the Super Blue Moon this year? Check our Full Moon calendar for all dates, times, names, Supermoons, and more for the year.
See Infographic

When is the next Snow Moon?

The Snow Moon is a traditional name for the February Full Moon, so the next Full Snow Moon after February 24, 2024, will occur on February 12, 2025, at 13:53 GMT (8:53 a.m. EST).

Snow Moon 2024: Key takeaways

In February 2024, the Full Moon will occur on February 24, at 12:30 GMT (7:30 a.m. EST). It is traditionally called the Snow Moon. February’s Full Moon will also be the first Micromoon of 2024, which means that its visible size in our sky will be slightly smaller. You can see what the Moon looks like from your location for any day using the Moon tab of the Sky Tonight app’s calendar. To find out the dates and names of all the Full Moons occurring this year, check out our Full Moon calendar for 2024.

Topics:Moon
Trustpilot