Eclipse of the Full Beaver Moon Adorning the November Sky

~2 min
Eclipse of the Full Beaver Moon Adorning the November Sky

Enjoy the November Full Moon accompanied by a penumbral lunar eclipse. Find out when and where to see it, and why the Full Moon in November is called the Beaver Moon.

When to see the Full Moon in November 2020?

Last week the waxing crescent Moon passed close to the brilliant gas giants, Jupiter and Saturn. This week the observers will see the Full Beaver Moon adorning the sky: our natural satellite will reach its full phase on November 30, 2020, at 4:30 EST (9:30 GMT), traversing the constellation Taurus.

The Full Moon rises at sunset and sets at sunrise. The November Full Moon is the third and final one of this northern autumn or southern spring. But wherever in the world you live, you’ll see the southern eye of the Bull marked by the bright orange star Aldebaran shining close to the Moon in the evening sky. You’ll also find a spectacular open star cluster — the Pleiades, also known as the Seven Sisters or M45 — sparkling nearby.

Why is it called the Full Beaver Moon?

Traditional names for the Full Moons are associated with peculiarities of a particular season or seasonal activities. November’s Full Moon is called the Beaver Moon because beavers build their winter dams and prepare for the cold season during this month. November was also considered the best month to hunt for these animals before they stowed away for the winter. Other names are the Full Frost Moon and the Full Mourning Moon (in the Pagan tradition).

Penumbral Lunar Eclipse on November 30, 2020

The observers from North and Central America and northern Asia will have a chance to witness a penumbral lunar eclipse that will take place on November 30, 2020, between 2:33 and 6:54 EST (7:33 and 11:54 GMT). A penumbral lunar eclipse occurs when our natural satellite passes through the faint, outer part of the Earth's shadow called Earth's penumbra. As a result, we can see the subtle dimming of the lunar disk.

According to the Canadian astronomer Chris Vaughan, at the maximum eclipse at 04:44 EST (09:44 GMT), the Earth’s penumbra will cover approximately 83% of the lunar disk. The subtle darkening of the Moon’s northern limb will be noticeable only within about 30 minutes of the greatest eclipse. The observers from South America and northern Europe will only see the early stages of the eclipse, while those located in Australia, Southeast Asia, China, and parts of Russia will only see the latter stages.

The Eclipse Guide app will help you observe the Beaver Moon eclipse and learn about other upcoming solar and lunar eclipses. Open the application and find animated eclipse maps, best viewing spots, local times, voice alerts, and other necessary information for viewing eclipses.

We wish you clear skies and happy observations!

Text Credit:
Image Credit:Vito Technology
Eclipse Guide logo

Eclipse Guide

Download on the App Store
Get it on Google Play