Buck Moon Eclipse: How, When And Where To See It

~3 min
Buck Moon Eclipse: How, When And Where To See It

Like last month, the Full Moon in July will be accompanied by a penumbral lunar eclipse. Find out why this eclipse is special, how, when, and where to see it, and why the Full Moon in July is called the Buck Moon.

When is the Full Moon in July 2020?

July’s Full Moon will rise after sundown on Saturday, July 4, 2020, reach its full phase on Sunday, July 5, at 4:44 UTC (or 12:44 a.m. EDT), and adorn the sky till dawn. From almost everywhere around the world, the lunar disk will appear full to the eye on the nights of July 4, 5, and 6. July’s Full Moon, also known as the Full Buck Moon, will shine among the stars of constellations Sagittarius and Capricornus, near the bright king of planets Jupiter and the ringed planet Saturn.

To find out the exact times of the rise and set for the Moon and other celestial objects for your location, consult the stargazing app Star Walk 2. You can turn the app’s notifications on in order not to miss the most noteworthy astronomical events.

Why is it called the Full Buck Moon?

The Full Moon in July is traditionally known as the Full Buck Moon because of the new buck’s antlers that start to grow around this time of the year (male deers shed their antlers every year). It is also called Thunder Moon, as thunderstorms occur more frequently in July. Other names of the July’s Full Moon are Full Hay Moon and Full Wort Moon.

Penumbral Lunar Eclipse on July 4-5, 2020

Like last month, the Full Moon in July is accompanied by a penumbral lunar eclipse that occurs when the Moon passes through the faint, outer part of the Earth's shadow called Earth's penumbra. As a result, a subtle dimming of the lunar disk takes place.

The penumbral lunar eclipse in July is known as the Buck Moon Eclipse. It will begin when the Moon contacts Earth’s penumbral shadow on July 5, at 03:07 UTC (July 4, 11:07 p.m. EDT) and will end at 05:52 UTC (July 5, 01:52 a.m. EDT). At maximum eclipse, that will occur at 04:30 UTC (July 5, 12:30 a.m. EDT), about 35% of the Moon's disc will be in partial shadow and lose some of its brightness. The entire eclipse will last 2 hours and 45 minutes.

The penumbral lunar eclipse will be visible from most of North and South America, in western parts of Africa, southwestern Europe, and New Zealand. Observers in North and South America get the best view.

Why is this lunar eclipse special?

This penumbral eclipse is the third of three eclipses in one eclipse season. An eclipse season is one of only two periods during each year when eclipses can occur. Each season lasts from 31 to 37 days. In most cases, two eclipses occur in one eclipse season, but on rare occasions, there are three eclipses. July’s lunar eclipse is this rare occasion. The last time three eclipses occurred in one season was in 2018, and the next time this will happen only in 2029.

How to see the Buck Moon Eclipse?

Penumbral lunar eclipses are very subtle celestial events to observe with the naked eye. Generally, an ordinary observer can notice the dimming of the lunar disk with unaided eyes when about 70% of the Moon's diameter is in partial shadow. Although the penumbral lunar eclipse on July 4-5 may be rather inconspicuous to the naked eye, skywatchers have the opportunity to view a magnificent Full Buck Moon from dusk till dawn.

You can get all the information you need to observe the Buck Moon eclipse on July 4-5, 2020, as well as other upcoming solar and lunar eclipses in the Eclipse Guide app. In the app, you will find local times, animated eclipse maps, best viewing spots, voice alerts, and other info for viewing eclipses.

Wishing you clear skies!

Tekst Credit:
Afbeelding Credit:Vito Technology

Eclipse Guide

Eclipse Guide logo
Te downloaden in de App Store
Get it on Google Play

Star Walk 2

Star Walk 2 logo
Te downloaden in de App Store
Get it on Google Play